Many people assume that assault only occurs when someone is physically attacked, but this isn’t the case. Under Minnesota assault laws, you can be charged with assault if you commit an act that’s intended to cause fear of imminent injury. This means you could be charged with assault even if you haven’t laid your hands on anybody.
Although there are many different types of assault, every type of assault charge in Minnesota carries the risk of going to jail. For fifth degree assault, maximum jail time is set at 90 days, while a first degree assault charge could lead to a sentence of up to 20 years in jail and/or a fine up to $30,000.
Due to the seriousness of the situation, it’s important to know what to do if you’re charged with assault. With these tips, you can ensure you handle the situation appropriately:
Assault charges often arise when an argument gets out of hand or a physical altercation occurs. If you’ve been accused of assault, there’s a chance you may have sustained an injury too. If so, it’s important to access medical help. Sometimes, people don’t realize how badly they’ve been hurt due to the stress surrounding the situation. By seeking medical assistance, you can ensure your injuries are properly diagnosed and get any treatment you might need.
If you’re facing an assault charge, it’s vital to get legal advice. By working with experienced criminal defense attorneys, like Campoli Defense, you can make sure that you have a reputable legal team working on your case. By creating reasonable doubt, for example, your lawyers could weaken the case against you and may even be able to have the charges against you dropped.
Alternatively, criminal defense attorneys can work on your behalf to minimize the consequences of an assault charge. If there’s evidence that you have committed the offence, for example, your attorneys may be able to avoid you being sent to jail and reduce the amount of time you spend on probation.
Depending on when and where the incident took place, you may need evidence to support your case. If you were on the phone at the time of the alleged assault, for example, there may be audio which could be used to help exonerate you.
To ensure you can present your case effectively, be sure to keep evidence secure. It’s easy for audio or video files to be accidentally deleted, so back them up if you can and let your lawyer know you have them as soon as possible.
Being charged with any criminal offence is a stressful situation to find yourself in. When you’re facing jail time, the loss of a job or potential subsequent civil action, it’s easy to feel overwhelmed. Fortunately, a reputable criminal defense attorney will be able to explain the process to you and help you to manage your case. With the right support, you can overcome the challenges you’re facing and ensure that your side of the story is heard.